Catholic Schools Office Maitland-Newcastle Logo

Bishop Michael Kennedy was installed as the ninth Bishop of Maitland-Newcastle on Friday 17 March 2023 at Sacred Heart Cathedral, Hamilton. 

Born in 1968 in Wagga Wagga, Bishop Michael Kennedy is the youngest of nine children born to John and Fidelma Kennedy. 

Following his education in Wagga Wagga by the Christian Brothers, Bishop Michael Kennedy undertook a Diploma of Education at the Sydney Catholic College of Education and taught for several years at Xavier Catholic College in Albury. 

In 1992 he commenced seminary studies at Vianney College in rural New South Wales and, in 1994, he continued his academic studies at the Urban College of Propaganda Fide in Rome, attaining a Licentiate in Sacred Theology and also then a Diploma in Mariology from the Marianum Pontifical School. 

Ordained a priest in 1999, he held various positions in the Diocese of Wagga Wagga including as Assistant Priest and Parish Priest, Rector of Saint Francis’ Residential College at Charles Sturt University, Lecturer in Moral Theology, Mariology and Church History at Vianney College, Diocesan Director of Vocations, Member of Diocesan Council of Priests and College of Consultors, Diocesan Catholic Schools Commission member and Vicar Forane.

Bishop Michael Kennedy most recently served as the tenth Bishop of Armidale from February 2012 to March 2023.  Additionally, in November 2012 he was appointed the Apostolic Administrator of the Wilcannia Forbes Diocese, a position he held until July 2014. He has served on various Bishops Commissions and Councils and is currently a member of the Bishops Commission for Social Justice, Mission, and Service.


Previous Bishops of Maitland-Newcastle:

  • Charles Henry Davis OSB (1848 - 1854)
  • James Murray (1865 - 1909)
  • Patrick Vincent Dwyer (1909 - 1931)
  • Edmund Gleeson CSsR (1931 - 1956)
  • John Thomas Toohey (1956 - 1975)
  • Leo Morris Clarke (1976 - 1995)
  • Michael John Malone (1995 - 2011)
  • William Joseph Wright (2011 – 2021)